Arizona Field Ornithologist
©2008
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | MIGRATION COUNT | EVENTS | LINKS

 

ARIZONA CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNT SCHEDULE [2022-2023]

By Doug Jenness and Marceline VandeWater

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers throughout the Western Hemisphere go afield during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.
Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skills and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated, and stories shared.

CBC map of all the Arizona circles is found here. Zoom in to the Arizona map and select circle of interest.

Pre-CBC workshop - A Webinar by Tucson Audubon Society designed for new and seasoned CBC participants and area leaders will be held Friday December 2nd., find all details here.


Date Day Count Name Compiler Phone Email*
12/14/22 We Salt-Verde Rivers Kurt Radamaker 480-585-1606 kurtrad at mexicobirding.com
12/14/22 We Tucson Valley  Keith Kamper 520-495-9564 keithkamper at gmail.com
12/15/22 Th Buenos Aires NWR Bonnie Swarbrick 520-240-3737 bonnie.swarbrick at gmail.com
12/15/22 Th Patagonia Donna Edmonds 719-369-9704 dymonds215 at gmail.com
12/15/22 Th Gila River Ryan O'Donnell 435-232-8146 tsirtalis at hotmail.com
12/15/22 Th Sedona  Richard Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong at q.com
12/15/22 Th Bill Williams River NWR Jessica Samuelson 928-271-0253 jessica_samuelson at fws.gov
12/16/22 Fr Ajo-Cabeza Prieta Stephanie Doerries 520-387-4989 stephanie_doerries at fws.gov
12/16/22 Fr Havasu NWR Marge Penton 928-201-0619 malgaep at gmail.com
12/16/22 Fr Safford Diane Drobka 928-298-0004 sunny1az at yahoo.com 
12/16/22 Fr Willow Beach Clayton Merrill 702-371-7548 clayton_merrill at nps.gov 
12/17/22 Sa Phoenix-Metro Dr. Mo 480-748-6562 drmo at asu.edu
12/17/22 Sa Avra Valley George Montgomery 520-609-0245 gmontgomery at desertmuseum.org
12/17/22 Sa Nogales Bill Lisowsky 520-987-0187 ykswosil at gmail.com
12/17/22 Sa Hassayampa River Chrissy Kondrat 623-451-1250 ckondrat at azgfd.gov 
12/17/22 Sa Santa Catalina Mountains Kendall Kroesen 520-971-2385 kkroesen at cox.net
12/17/22 Sa Organ Pipe Cactus NM Daniel Martin 928-210-2420 daniel_j_martin at nps.gov
12/17/22 Sa Tonto NM Aaron O’Neal 928-467-2241 tont_information atnps.gov
12/18/22 Su Lukeville Daniel Martin 928-210-2420 daniel_j_martin at nps.gov
12/18/22 Su Saint David Heather Swanson 520-307-4405 SPRNCAbird at hotmail.com
12/18/22 Su Jerome  Rob Gibbs 240-780-1318 robgibbs54 at gmail.com
12/18/22 Su Grand Canyon Brian Gatlin 928-638-7723 brian_gatlin at nps.gov
12/19/22 Mo Ramsey Canyon Steven Tracey 408-966-3860 stracey53 at yahoo.com
12/19/22 Mo Chino Valley Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen at msn.com
12/20/22 Tu Tres Rios Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline at ermaroni.net
12/21/22 We Prescott Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 tomoff at northlink.com
12/26/22 Mo Superior Joy Bell 480-760-1393 joyabell_az at yahoo.com
12/28/22 We Green Valley-Madera Canyon Malcolm Chesworth 203-947-2440 malcolmsc at yahoo.com
12/28/22 We Martinez Lake-Yuma Nancy Meister 928-782-3552 yaspresident at yahoo.com
12/29/22 Th Flagstaff-Mount Elden Brian Hofstetter 928-797-4084 brianhofstetter at gmail.com
12/30/22 Fr Carefree Jen Bruening 480-239-2917 jen at mcdowellsonoran.org
12/31/22 Sa Portal Bonnie Bowen 520-558-0038 Bonnie.Bowen at gmail.com
12/31/22 Sa Timber Mesa Mary Williams 480-235-1792 mary.williams at arizonachristian.edu 
01/01/23 Su Atascosa Highlands Jake Mohlmann 610-390-2424 mohlmann2 at yahoo.com
01/02/23 Mo Camp Verde Kay Hawklee 432-703-0007 khawklee at gmail.com
01/02/23 Mo Dudleyville Doug Jenness 520-909-1529 dougjenness at gmail.com
01/04/23 We Lake Pleasant Eric Hough 928-684-2772 eric.hough at maricopa.gov 
01/05/23 Th Appleton-Whittell Suzanne Wilcox 520-455-5522 swilcox at audubon.org
01/05/23 Th Payson  David Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh at rmi.net
?   Glen Canyon John Spence 928-608-6267 john_spence at nps.gov
?   Tonto NM - Roosevelt Lake ?    

 

* Change at to @ and delete spaces before sending  

 


Greater White-fronted Goose, photo by Troy Corman Rufous-backed Robin, photo by Marceline VandeWater

 

 

 

 


 


©2005
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | AZ BIRD COMMITTEE | EVENTS | LINKS