Arizona Field Ornithologist
©2008
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | MIGRATION COUNT | EVENTS | LINKS

ARIZONA CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNT SCHEDULE - 2012-2013

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since the year 1900. Volunteers from throughout the Western Hemisphere go afield during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skills and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. There is no longer a participation fee. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one or more of interest to you and contact the compiler for information.

 

by Walter Thurber

The Count List 2012-2013

The 2012-2013 Arizona Christmas Bird Count list (below) includes one nearby count in New Mexico.   
Count # corresponds to number on CBC Location map.

 


Hover over numbers on map to see count name, click to position to count info

Grand Canyon Cabeza Prieta NWR


* Change at to @ and delete spaces before sending
Date Day Map # Count Name Compiler Phone *E-Mail


14-Dec Fr 1 Salt-Verde Rivers Kurt Radamaker 480-837-2446 kurtrad at mexicobirding.com
14-Dec Fr 2 Pipe Spring Natl. Monument Andrea Bornemeier 928-643-7105 andrea_bornemeier at nps.gov
14-Dec Fr 4 Buenos Aires NWR Bonnie Swarbrick 520-823-4251 bonnie_swarbrick at fws.gov
             
15-Dec Sa 5 Ajo-Cabeza Prieta NWR Kim Veverka 520-387-4987 kim_veverka at fws.gov
15-Dec Sa 6 Avra Valley Mary Lou Cole 520-578-0114 birdingnana at msn.com
15-Dec Sa 8 Martinez Lake-Yuma Henry Detwiler 928-247-3098 henrydetwiler at earthlink.net
15-Dec Sa 9 Mormon Lake Elaine Morrall 928-526-1022 morrall.em at gmail.com
15-Dec Sa 10 Nogales Michael Bissontz 520-577-8778 seetrogon at comcast.net
15-Dec Sa 11 Santa Catalina Mountains Bob Bates 520-296-5629 batesd at cox.net
15-Dec Sa 36 Payson Dave Hallock 303-258-3672 eldoradh at rmi.net
15-Dec Sa   Grand Canyon Brian Gatlin 928-638-7968 brian_gatlin at nps.gov
             
16-Dec Su 13 Jerome Julie Wills 928-300-9775 jwills282 at hotmail.com
16-Dec Su 14 Tucson Valley Rich Hoyer 520-325-5310 birdernaturalist at me.com
16-Dec Su 21 Saint David Tom Wood 520-432-1388 tom at sabo.org
             
17-Dec Mo 3 Phoenix-Tres Rios David Powell 602-441-5508 vireo at vireos.com
17-Dec Mo 26 Chino Valley Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen at msn.com
             
19-Dec We 15 Prescott Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 ctomoff at prescott.edu
             
20-Dec Th 34 Patagonia Abbie Zeltzer 520-604-6320 amindajar at gmail.com
             
21-Dec Fr 28 Elfrida Tom Wood 520-432-1388 tom at sabo.org
             
22-Dec Sa 7 Hassayampa River Vanessa Montgomery 623-465-0012 hassayampacbc at hotmail.com
22-Dec Sa 12 Timber Mesa Mary Ellen Bittorf 928-367-2462 maryellen12 at cableone.net
22-Dec Sa 17 Ramsey Canyon Ted Mouras 520-803-0221 tedmouras at mindspring.com
22-Dec Sa 18 Camp Verde Bea Cooley 928-526-5069 bea.cooley at gmail.com
22-Dec Sa 39 Atascosa Highlands Rich Hoyer 520-325-5310 birdernaturalist at me.com
             
26-Dec We 23 Superior Cynthia Donald 480-283-4515 planres at earthlink.net
             
27-Dec Th 19 Gila River Troy Corman 602-482-6187 aplomado at cox.net
27-Dec Th 22 Bill Williams Delta Kathleen Blair 928-667-4144 kathleen_blair at fws.gov
             
28-Dec Fr 20 Havasu NWR DeeDee DeLorenzo 928-758-2707 poncho at citlink.net
28-Dec Fr 29 Green Valley-Madera Canyon Malcolm Chesworth 203-798-0223 malcolmsc at yahoo.com
             
29-Dec Sa 16 Flagstaff-Mount Elden Terry Blows 928-774-8028 terence.blows at nau.edu
29-Dec Sa 24 Portal Jackie Lewis 520-558-2287 winjac12 at vtc.net
             
30-Dec Su 30 Sedona Rich Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong at q.com
             
2-Jan We 31 Carefree Walter Thurber 480-483-6450 wathurber at cox.net
             
3-Jan Th 32 Glen Canyon John Spence 928-608-6267 john_spence at nps.gov
             
5-Jan Sa 27 Dudleyville Doug Jenness 520-909-1529 d_jenness at hotmail.com
5-Jan Sa 37 Appleton-Whittell Robert Weissler 520-234-1792 weissler at aves.org
  Nearby Count
           
30-Dec Su C Peloncillo Mountains, NM Nicholas Pederson 505-417-8665 ndpederson83 at gmail.com
             
      Counts # 25 and A are not active      

 

 

For a description of greater Phoenix area Christmas Bird Counts click here.


 

 

 

 


 


©2005
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | AZ BIRD COMMITTEE | EVENTS | LINKS